Vancouver International Airport’s Tamara Vrooman Becomes Chair of Canadian Airports Council and Fredericton International Airport’s Johanne Gallant Becomes Vice Chair

January 5th, 2024

Ottawa, ON, 

The Canadian Airports Council (CAC) has a new leadership team, effective February 1, 2024. Tamara Vrooman, President and CEO of the Vancouver Airport Authority, will become the Chair of the Canadian Airports Council and a member of Airports Council International – North America’s Executive Committee. Johanne Gallant, President and CEO of the Fredericton International Airport Authority, will be Vice Chair.

Other elections include: Deborah Flint, President and CEO of the Greater Toronto Airports Authority, who becomes Chair of the Large Airports Caucus and Stéphane Poirier, President and CEO of the Québec City Jean-Lesage International Airport, has been elected Chair of the Small Airports Caucus.

“As incoming Chair of the Canadian Airports Council, I look forward to advancing the critically important research and advocacy work for our 100+ member airports from coast to coast to coast,” said Tamara Vrooman. “Canadian airports play a unique role in support of the Canadian economy – from the safe and efficient movement of people and goods, to the employment of hundreds of thousands of Canadians, to driving sustainability, innovation, and social leadership. Our industry is facing significant challenges ahead and I look forward to strengthening our national network of aviation facilities across our vast country.”

“A sincere thank you to our outgoing Chair, RJ Steenstra, President and CEO of Ports Toronto and Billy Bishop Airport, his vision and focus on resiliency and innovation kept us strategically positioned through one of the most challenging periods of aviation history,” said Monette Pasher, President of the CAC. “As we look forward, our industry will continue to invest in infrastructure to improve the traveller journey with an eye on innovation, sustainability, and the workforce of the future. With Tamara’s expertise and financial experience I know our airport network will be in great hands.”

As well as Vrooman’s appointment, Calgary International Airport President and CEO Chris Dinsdale and St John’s International Airport President and CEO Dennis Hogan were elected to the Board of Directors of Airports Council International – North America (ACI-NA) on January 1, 2024.


About the Canadian Airports Council

The Canadian Airports Council (CAC), a division of Airports Council International-North America, is the voice for Canada’s airports community. Its 60 members represent more than 100 airports, including all of the privately operated National Airports System (NAS) airports and many municipal airports across Canada.

Prior to the pandemic, Canada’s airports supported nearly 200,000 jobs, generating $13 billion in wages and $7 billion in taxes to all levels of government.

For more information, please contact:

Julie Pondant, Canadian Airports Council